note 24909 deleted from function.ignore-user-abort by nlopess
| From: | nlopess@php.net | Date: | Sat, 10 Jan 2004 15:27:38 +0000 |
| Subject: | note 24909 deleted from function.ignore-user-abort by nlopess | ||
| References: | 1 | Groups: | php.notes |
| Request: | Send a blank email to php-notes+get-63272@lists.php.net to get a copy of this message | ||
Note Submitter:
----
It seems that this function does not perform anything on servers configured in "Safe
Mode".
This Safe Mode behavior can be seen as a security feature, however this creates a security issue
when the user aborts in the middle of a critical update operation (for example when saving updated
data in a locked text file, because this usually means truncating the existing content then writing
the new data: the user abort event can occur just after truncation but before data is saved in the
text file!)
The only way to avoid this problem is to use a database with rollback logs that allow performing
transaction safe updates.