how do I compile win32build with dev-c++ (or other freeware)
| From: | deviant | Date: | Thu, 08 Jun 2000 15:38:31 +0000 |
| Subject: | how do I compile win32build with dev-c++ (or other freeware) | ||
| Groups: | php.windows | ||
| Request: | Send a blank email to php-windows+get-334@lists.php.net to get a copy of this message | ||
Hi all,
I was trying to get PHP4 to work when I found out that I hadn't even compiled win32build (oops,
sorry...).
Now I have extracted everything from win32build.zip tp c:\php-win32build.
The next thing I was supposed to do is compile this. The problem is that I have never compiled
before (aka I am a dumb windows user).
The problem is that this is only explained for microsoft visual C++, which I cannot affort.
1) This is what the tutorial says:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Launch Microsoft Visual C++, and from the menu select Tools => Options. In the dialog, select the
directories tab. Sequentially change the dropdown to Executables, Includes, and Library files, and
ensure that the Cygwin\bin, win32build\include, and win32build\lib files are in the list below
respectively. (To add an entry, select a blank line at the end of the list and begin typing).
Typical entries will look like this:
a.. C:\Program Files\Cygnus\cygwin-b20\H-i586-cygwin32\bin
b.. C:\php-win32build\include
c.. C:\php-win32build\lib
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But how does this work using dev-c++. If your not farmiliar with dev-c++, any explaination, using
another freeware compiler, will do
2) And the saga continues ....
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Make another directory and unzip bindlib_w32.zip into it. Decide whether you want to have debug
symbols available (bindlib - Win32 Debug) or not (bindlib - Win32 Release). Build the appropriate
configuration:
a.. For GUI users, launch VC++, and then select File => Open Workspace and select bindlib. Then
select Build=>Set Active Configuration and select the desired configuration. Finally select
Build=>Rebuild All.
b.. For cmdline users, make sure that you either have the C++ environment variables registered, or
have run vcvars.bat, and then execute on of the following:
a.. msdev bindlib.dsp /MAKE "bindlib - Win32 Debug" #what does this do?
b.. msdev bindlib.dsp /MAKE "bindlib - Win32 Release" #and this?
c.. At this point, you should have a usable resolv.lib in either your Debug or Release
subdirectories. Copy this file into your win32build\lib directory over the file by the same name
found in there.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Normal english please... No really I have _no_ idea what this says. Would you be so kind as to
explain me ...
3) The next step
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
a.. Create a Command window and change directory into your php4 source directory. The number.tar.gz
file is packed using standard Unix utilites. If you have WinZip, you can use that utility to unpack
this file. Otherwise, you can use of the corresponding utilities found in Cygwin as follows:
a.. SETLOCAL
b.. %CYGWIN%\cygnus
c.. exit
d.. gunzip -c number.tar.gz | tar xv
e.. ENDLOCAL
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
But I just downloaded php-4.0.0-Win32.zip I don't need the source anymore, now do I? Especially
since http://www.php.net/version4/cvs.php says
that "you should be warned that the CVS version is a development version". The only thing
I would have to do is unzip numer.tar.gz to my php-directory (c:\php). Right?
4) Now for the building part
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4. Building
The best way to get started is to build the standalone/CGI version.
a.. For GUI users, launch VC++, and then select File => Open Workspace and select php4ts. Then
select Build=>Set Active Configuration and select the desired configuration. Finally select
Build=>Rebuild All.
b.. For cmdline users, make sure that you either have the C++ environment variables registered, or
have run vcvars.bat, and then execute one of the following:
a.. msdev php4ts.dsp /MAKE "php4ts - Win32 Debug_TS"
b.. msdev php4ts.dsp /MAKE "php4ts - Win32 Release_TS"
c.. At this point, you should have a usable php.exe in either your Debug_TS or Release_TS
subdirectories
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is probably the same as point 2 only different names?
PHP is in c:\php
CYGWIN is in c:\cygwin
PHP-WIN32BUILD is in c:\php-win32build
FURTHERMORE I have c:\bin, c:\tmp, c:\usr and c:\var
I don't expect you to answer all the questiones, as long as you can just help me to get started
Kindest Regards,
Deviant